To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights


FavoriteLoadingAdd to My Collection
Format:
Cover by:
Language:
Published by:
ISBN-10: 0063073218
ISBN-13: 978-0063073210
Length: 40
Published On: 2023-01-17
MSRP: $18.99


0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this post.
Loading...

Buy on Amazon.com
Buy On BarnsAndNoble.com
Buy On Bookshop.com
Buy On Books-A-Million.com
Wikipedia.org
Find on E-Bay

Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars! To Boldly Go tells the true story of Nichelle Nichols and how she used her platform on Star Trek to inspire and recruit a new generation of diverse astronauts and many others in the space and STEM fields.

As Lieutenant Uhura on the iconic prime-time television show Star Trek, Nichelle Nichols played the first Black female astronaut anyone had ever seen on screen. A smart, strong, independent Black woman aboard the starship Enterprise was revolutionary in the 1960s when only white men had traveled to outer space in real life and most Black characters on TV were servants.

Nichelle not only inspired a generation to pursue their dreams, but also opened the door for the real-life pioneering astronaut Sally Ride, Dr. Mae Jemison, and more.

This empowering tribute to the trailblazing pop culture icon reminds us of the importance of perseverance and the power of representation in storytelling. You just might be inspired to boldly go where no one like you has ever gone before!